Day 32: Closing ceremony pour moi

4 Aug

London day 3 – the return
It was a slower morning, checkout at 10:30am then off to explore before my train at 3:30.
My plan was to go to Wimbledon today and snap a few pics for my bro and perhaps get a t-shirt, but it’s SUPER far from where I’m staying (like I may have missed my train) and there was a good chance the museum was closed on Sunday. Typical Europe.
Because I hadn’t done the “touristy” things, I took the tube to Westminster Abbey.
It was really beautiful down there, as soon as I left the metro, Big Ben was staring right back at me.
I walk down the street and ask this lovely Asian daughter and father to take my picture and see the London Eye in the background.
This place is a monument heaven. Everywhere you turn, something.
I walk down and see St. Margret’s church. Totally forgot it was Sunday or I would have dressed to go to a service.
Across the street from Big Ben was this structure full of different flags from countries all over.

American pride.
The lovely ladies who took my photo were from Vancouver (Shout out to Court 1!)
There are a surprising amount of tourists from Canada here. I’ve met people from Vancouver, Saskatchewan and Alberta.
After scoping out Westminster Abbey, I walked a few blocks over through St. James Park to Buckingham Palace.
It seemed to be lacking life (guessing William and Kate were busy at the Olympics) but was buzzing with people.
It started to rain so I headed back to the hotel to get my stuff before the Eurostar train.
Picked up my luggage and got on the bus that headed straight to the train station.
Looked everywhere for After Eights but couldn’t find them. SO SAD.
Got onto the train where my neighbors were from, you guessed it, Canada.
And I took a nap.

Back in France Paris Nord was bopping and I decided to take the metro home. WORST DECISION EVER.
Totally should have opted for RER.
It took awhile but I made it back to the Au Pair household safe and sound – lacking a mobile phone.
What a wonderful trip.
Just a weekend and SO much happened.
Traveling is such a great thing, it really helps for one to be open-minded, gain inner strength, and just to know oneself better.
I’m so grateful, appreciative and blessed to be on this trip. And to be able to take it.
Part of the reason I’m writing this blog is selfish, I want to share my trip with others but it’s a great reminder for months/years to come.
If you have the opportunity, travel. If you’re scared, give it a try, go outside your comfort zone.
The aftermath is totally worth it. I feel like I’ve run a proverbial marathon, achieving something I never thought I could do.
I went into another country for a weekend, by myself, payed for it myself and managed to come back alive.
There’s a kind of independent freedom that comes through experiences likes this one.
Best trip ever. I love London.

2 Responses to “Day 32: Closing ceremony pour moi”

  1. Ellen Zimmer August 5, 2012 at 8:11 am #

    Courtney,
    I sent a comment a few days back, but it doesn’t seem to have posted –darn this technology! I just wanted to let you know how much I am enjoying following your travel exploits via this blog. It brings back such great memories of my trip with Uncle Jim to Rouen, Paris, and London in the early ’90s as well as our family trip to London in spring 2011. I am so very impressed with the way you are embracing this opportunity and taking advantage of every chance to expand your horizons and visit the many surrounding destinations. It takes courage to step on to that train to a brand new destination — but it is so worth it! You will be influenced by these experiences from now on, in all that you do in life…you’ve truly gained a world perspective. This is an invaluable asset that you have secured all on your own…couldn’t be a better graduation present you could give yourself! Can’t wait to see the pix once you return!

    Love,

    Aunt Ellen

    • CourtZim August 5, 2012 at 9:10 am #

      Sorry the blog has been not posting things. I keep getting all this spam via comments (which I never knew existed before this trip) so your comment may have been lost in the shuffle.
      I’m so glad this blog brings back good memories! 🙂 Thank you for the encouragement! There are days that are awesome and days that are…well, not so awesome, but it’s all part of the experience. I didn’t have a huge culture-shock moment in France (except for finding a hedgehog in the lawn and almost stepping on it one night!) but I believe the reverse culture-shock, when I return home, will be much greater. Hope all is well back in The Mitten. Tell Uncle Jim that I simply can’t bring myself to try Domino’s Pizza with prawns. I’ll leave it to the French.

      Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

